Tags

A lunchtime interrogation:

Miss, what do you do when we’re not here?

swiftly followed by,

Do you not get lonely?

Sweet of them to care, but seriously!?! The young  have this utopian idyll of me sitting reading with my feet up all day; come to think of it, I share that idyll, but after a while I’d want to do something else. Because much as I love reading, I want to be creating and organising and discussing and grabbing opportunities and getting ideas knocked back, and watching out for other chances. That’s where the fun is.

And so, I educated my audience about my morning: the discussions with colleagues about the folks I’d met at the conference the previous day; the requests for information and photographs and bookings and help with blogs and email to answer, and classes to organise and the endless, endless, endless timetabling.

What’s through there?

They pointed to my ‘office’. It’s more of a space in which I put stuff. Lots of stuff. Stuff that I really want to keep: ideas, evidence, minutes, posters, artifacts, stationery, book repair materials, plastic jackets in all sizes, the school archive, and all sorts of useful bits and pieces which I won’t necessarily find again until they’re out of date.

The Goslings know not to pass though the door if they want to see daylight again.

I tell my interrogators it’s the storeroom.

For books?

Amongst other things, yes. And that’s when they left me speechless.

Why do you want more books?

Er, to read them?

But we’ve got books. Why do we need new ones?

Well, some of the old ones are past their best, and you have to keep up-to-date, and you guys need to have a chance to read some of the brilliant new books getting published, and sometimes books get lost, and sometimes departments change the topics you are studying or new teachers want to do new things. Lots of reasons!

(and that of course led to the perennial …)

Have you read every book in here?

But as I opened my mouth to answer, the bell rang, and they vanished, leaving me to my lonely idyll (actually trying to fit 40 classes into thirty periods).

