Tags

, ,

One of the great things about the Scottish Learning Festival is finding new suppliers and publishers that I wasn’t previously aware of, but these two wouldn’t necessarily be on my wishlist.

Now most publishers are happy and interested on hearing you’re a librarian, but not Publisher A. She had asked if I had pupils who found reading difficult, and I replied that yes, I did, as well as those who were turned off reading. Unfortunately, while I was always on the lookout for suitable material for these young people, the books on display were more suitable for a primary school than a secondary library, and that was the essence of my reply.

And that’s when I got this dismissive brainteaser:

These books aren’t suitable for libraries anyway.

confused

The publisher’s reasoning was that these books were designed to go with worksheets, and that therefore they shouldn’t be used as ‘books’.

Or maybe these ‘books’ are secretly bibliovores with excellent camouflage and hence shouldn’t be stored around so much prey. It would make as much sense.

Then, Publisher B apologised for problems with the PDF notes for his interactive stories: I was a wee bit bored by this time so wasn’t really paying attention, but I believe the problem was that they were in Chinese. Maybe it was a subtle form of interdisciplinary learning?

These goods weren’t for my library and I don’t want to put them down, but honestly, the people selling them really need to work on their marketing.

